Oil Change?

Discussion of the 5.7L-6.1L-6.4L HEMIs.

Moderator: scottm

gkwait

Oil Change?

Post by gkwait »

I am new to the Hemi world and was wondering if anyone had any suggestions as to which type of oil to use in this new beast? Also, does anyone have an opinion on changing the oil after the 1st 1000 miles?
Thanks.
tfrancis1

Oil change

Post by tfrancis1 »

I did my oil change at 2000 miles. However the Canadian dealers do not stock the Chrsyler oil filter listed for the Hemi (black). The white filter they stock same as the 5.9 is white and is clearly visible from the front of the RAM 2500 HD. I put a Fram which is black like the fatory.
gkwait

Thannks

Post by gkwait »

Thanks for the warning on the filter color. What type of oil did you use? Synthetic, or normal? What weight?
tfrancis1

Oil Change

Post by tfrancis1 »

I just did 10w30. Syntheic is not called for. Plus once you start you can not go back.
schmidtmike_

synthetic oil

Post by schmidtmike_ »

contrary to popular belief, synthetic oil and mineral oil can be used interchangably. I have consulted many master mechanics including many from UTI. They say that synthetic is safe for use in any engine at ANY point in it's life, and mineral oil can be used if synthetic is no longer desired.
gkwait

I hate to ask

Post by gkwait »

Without starting WWIII, does the Hemi prefer any particular brand?
schmidtmike_

Post by schmidtmike_ »

The hemi (like all engines) prefers Royal Purple synthetic oil. The stuff is like a miracle in a bottle! My Torino geined 12.7 hp and 19.2 ft/lbs at the wheels after I started using that stuff.[/quote]
dodgehemi345hp

Post by dodgehemi345hp »

I have a friend that started using royal purple at 3000 miles and in 1 week he developed a oil leak.Call it a what you will but a 2002 chevy at my work did the same thing and that royaol purple stuff is not cheap.
moe74

OIL

Post by moe74 »