pistons and cam selection

Discussion about the Hemi in general.

Moderator: scottm

leothelab

pistons and cam selection

Post by leothelab »

Hi I am new to the hemi world and i am starting to tinker around with the 392 i had sitting in my basement for a while (dont have a vehicle to put it in but tinker i must) I am stopping my self at a hot street motor. I just wnat to put in arp rod bolts and mybe new main bolts. My questions are 1. can I get away with a 10:1 cast piston (stock heads) and not have to retard the timing. and 2. Cam selection. Has anyone experienced the thumpr cam. (noticable idle but still drivable. 3. who is a reliable supplier of hemi parts? thanks in advance.
mart

Re: pistons and cam selection

Post by mart »

First, congratulations on getting a hemi and welcome to the group. Hemis are great engine and you should get all the help and advice you need here to build it anyway you want.

Since you're new to hemis, my first bit of advice is make sure *exactly* what you've got before you tear into it and start buying parts. I'm not saying yours isn't, but for some reason, a lot of people automatically assume that any and all early hemis are 392's. Besides the 392's - (which is 'high-deck' engine by the way and comparatively rare, as Chrysler *only* used then in passenger cars and *only* in 1957 and '1958) - there were the 'low-deck' 331 and 354 Chryslers, in car, truck, industrial and marine variations - as well as both high and low-deck Dodge and DeSoto hemis - which are also completely different from each other and from their Chrysler hemi 'sisters'. If you post the numbers - usually stamped on a pad at the front of the block- or on an industrial engine, usually on a tag riveted to the side of the block - people here will be able to tell you exactly what you've got.