Need info on 230 to Dodge 270 swap for truck

Discussion of the Early Dodge / DeSoto HEMIs.

Moderators: scottm, TrWaters, 392heminut

Drew M.

Need info on 230 to Dodge 270 swap for truck

Post by Drew M. »

I am considering swapping out my 230 for a V8 to get higher revs being the truck has 5.83 gears (Dodge M37). I found a 270 poly locally. It is from a 1956 Dodge car that had an auto trans. Will the 270 bolt up to the 230's bellhousing and flywheel (4-speed)? Thanks.
:P
Drew M.

Here's what I found so far . . .

Post by Drew M. »

The flathead 6 bellhousing is not the same as the tiny hemi/poly bellhousing.

The tiny hemi/poly uses an 8 bolt crank flange - so later LA smallblock flywheels can't be used being they are 6 bolt.

On the good side, the pilot bushing i.d. between the 6 and tiny V8's is the same.
David Bemis

270 Engine Swap

Post by David Bemis »

Drew,
I'm no expert, but the answers are out there. Start by going to WWW.Uglytruckling.com. This company makes kits for this. I believe that the bell bolt pattern on the 270 is the same as for the 318/340/360 and their bells will bolt to your tranny. The flywheel/starter issue I am myself trying to get clear. I am putting a 270 into a Carryall. I will need to use a "floating power" bracket for the front as my block doesn't have any "ears" at the front like most early hemis for the front mounts. I don't know if this common with the 270 or not. Good luck.
David G. Bemis - '42 Carryall w/'55 Super Red Ram 270
Dana

Power Wagon forum...

Post by Dana »

Dave, also hang out at the dodgepowerwagon.com forum. The M-37 forum (Big Electric) has been down for a few weeks, don't know if it'll be back or not, but the Power Wagon guys know the M-37s also. There's one guy that goes by 'hemiman', he's stuck a 241 in his M-37 and the original four-speed bolted right up (just added the pilot bushing) then he made some motor mounts. I've never seen the truck, but he did send me photos of the motor mounts.